del | rm

The del (alias rm) command takes a "file" out of a project.

It does not delete the file from the repository, it does not remove the file from the file system on disk. It tells fossil that the file is no longer a part of the project for which fossil is maintaining the sources.

For example, if you have a nice, clean source tree and use the extra command on it, you won't get any output. If you then rm some file and commit the change, that file will be listed by the extra command.

The file is still on the disk, and it is still in the repository. But the file is not part of the project anymore. Further changes to the file will not be checked in unless you add the file again.

It can initially be confusing to see a file that's been "deleted" still showing up in the files list in the repository, but remember that the files list currently* shows all of the files that have ever been in the repository because fossil is a source control system and therefore keeps a record of the history of a project.

To get a list of the files only in the current version of the project, use the ls command.

The del command is the logical opposite of the add command, in its single-file-add form.

*version 7c281b629a on 20081220

See also: fossil add, fossil ls, Reference